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Pay Per Click- PPC, we all have heard it, we all have used it knowingly and unknowingly. But, how many of us know how to set up a PPC campaign for a business? If that is what you are looking for to learn and understand, then welcome aboard!
1. Understand your customer
Before marketing your business, it is important to study the customer base for developing a better Pay Per Click PPC ad campaign. Understanding the customers and then targeting them is a very crucial step otherwise you would be walking towards a dark tunnel. Blind marketing won’t rip you any fruits. Know their demographics, pain points, interests, behavior, and what they are demanding for. Create a customer persona i.e. an ideal customer profile you are trying to target.
If people are not searching for what you are trying to sell, then obviously, SERPs won’t be able to help you. So before you start marketing, understand how the demand for your product is and where it is coming from. For this you can use keyword research to understand the demand and behaviour of your customer. Tools like UberSuggest, SEMRush could be useful
2. Set your goal
Do you have any specific campaign objective? What is the outcome you are expecting from this Ad campaign? Do you want to generate more leads, increase sales, brand awareness, increase traffic and so on? For each objective, you need to strategies your Ad campaign in an unique way. Define your objective clearly and measure how effectively this Ad campaign is going to favour you to attain the goals. Determine the target ROI return of investment, cost per action, ROAS return on as spend and other parameters.
3. Research keywords
Keyword research is a time consuming process and it needs to be done continuously. Make a list of keywords and keep updating it and expanding it with low cost, relevant, long tail keywords. Along with this also look for high cost but underperforming keywords to remove from the list.for example you are trying to sell notebooks, then you can completely remove the keywords like ‘story book’ from the list. When you have a great keyword list, SERPs will know when to show your Ad.
How to select keywords;
-know the target audience demand
-understand what your competitors are doing
-select relevant and specific keywords
-look for keywords that work best for the buying cycle
Good keywords bring you increased clicks and increased sales.you can take help of various tools to find a perfect list of keywords; SEMrush, KeywordSpy, Ubersuggest, Keywords Everywhere, Google Keyword Planner and others. Tools like Ubersuggest tell you how others are using these keywords and how much the keyword will cost for the Ads.
Ask these questions before using a keyword;
-Is this keyword searched on SERPs?
-If I use a specific keyword, what is the possibility of people buying my product or service?
-Can I afford this keyword?
Many new advertisers do not know this very important thing, there are 3 main keyword match types in which you can segregate your keywords and save money by avoiding the wrong keywords. The types of match types keywords are;
Broad : your ad with these keywords will fall into the default match type and SERPs will show your ad to anyone searching with those keywords. This is a waste of money because it could be very random to show the ad.
Phrase : these kinds of ads will be shown only when the exact keyword phrase is searched for. This type gives a better ad control than the broad type ads.
Exact : this type of ad will be triggered when the exact keyword is typed on the SERPs. This will limit your exposure with the most control over ads.
4. Budget for a PPC ad Campaign
Finalize the list of keywords based on your budget. The keyword with higher search volume will have a higher cost per click-CPC. Remove all the keywords that are out of your budget. Set a maximum CPC for each keyword to avoid exceeding the budget. Have a look at the max CPC of your competitors to see if you can afford to Advertise on that keyword.
Max CPC is determined by the following factors used in the formula;
Maximum CPC= profit per customer x (web conversion rate in percentage) x (1- profit margin in decimal)
Maximum CPC=$200 x 3% x (1-0.3) = $4.2
Now $4.2 is your max CPC. suppose the estimated CPC for a keyword is $8, then you will either have to increase your profit per customer or web conversion rate to make a profitable Ad.
At present there are so many platforms to choose from for running PPC Ads. Google, Yahoo, Bing, social media platforms like Instagram, Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook and eCommerce platforms lie Amazon, Flipkart, Big Basket are some of the most used platforms.
Google is the most famous and effective platform for PPC Ad campaigns. Bing Ads, Google Adwords, and Facebook Ads are some of the Ad interfaces provided by various platforms. Now depending on the industry of your business you can choose to run the Ad campaigns on these platforms. You can target a few platforms by observing your target custom behaviour. Make sure PPC Ad campaigns show a clear brand image and highlight the USP well.
6.Tracking PPC ad campaign/Tracking code
There will be several areas to work upon after launching the PPC Campaign. But how would you know where to improve if you do not track the campaign? Make sure to track critical metrics like phone calls, transactions, revenue, leads, conversion rates,and click through rates. All this comes from using the right keywords. It’s fine if the PPC ads are not meeting your desired goals, you can experiment and tweak some parts. In the end, it’s all about adapting and marketing each time you want to see some positive change. You can also try running the A/B test to know what’s working and what is not.
You can track which of the keywords are profitable and generate clicks and increase conversions with the help of tracking code. This is helpful to increase ROI and work through the bids.
7.Targeting – Location wise and Device wise
It’s very important to plan for whom exactly you will be running your ads. Targeting your audience is important. Basically you can target your audience based on their device type, wireless networks and operating system, and geographics location.
You can choose a specific country, city, areas of a city or country, a radius around a specific location or a group according to location. This will help you keep your focus on a specific geographic area where you find potential for your product or service. This improves ROI, conversion and other factors. Keep identifying potential locations in terms of countries, cities, regions, states or places where you think your ads will do wonders.
Ads can be shown across devices like;
- Desktops or laptops
Your customers are everywhere using various types of mobile devices and using different SERPs. By using device targeting you can reach your customers on any device. Customize your ads for customers using different OS or devices to improve your reach and earn more profits.
8. Write Ad text/create compelling Ads with Ad extensions and Ad scheduling
Your ad should have an awesome ad text as it plays an important role in the success rate. Make sure with this ad text you are attracting the qualified traffic to the website. Better quality traffic generates better results in terms of conversions, sales, profits and less wastage of money. High click through rate-CTR increases the quality score and this will lead to a decrease in the cost per click on your set keywords.
You should have a very strong;
Headline should be short, quirky, appealing but relevantly descriptive. It gives your reader a clear picture of the content they are about to witness. Add keywords to your headline as SERPs will be able to detect the content faster. You can also ask questions in the headlines to grab attention and make it lucrative.
Add the USP- unique selling proposition in the description to make your business stand out. Make your customer understand the benefits of your business. Use abbreviations to make every word count.
Keep the display URL simple, short and understandable. Include your brand name in it so that your customer gets a clear picture of what is coming ahead. This improves the CTR in a PPC campaign.
Ad Scheduling for PPC ad
You have the freedom to run your ads whenever you desire to. In brick and mortar i.e. physical stores your ads will run only in business hours, on ecommerce sites you can run ads 24/7, you can decide to run the ad for specific duration of the day, week, month or day or night depending on the behaviour of your customer. If you observe that your customer demands for a product or service similar to that of your business on weekends and holidays, you can choose to run ads during that time.
Ad extensions for PPC ad
Try to allure your visitors to click through the link by adding the ad extensions. With this you can give additional information in the ad that will show up to a visitor searching for something relevant.
You can add Ad extensions to the links in various ways in a PPC Ad Campaign;
-add call extension for a number to call on
-price extensions to give a snake peek
-extra link extensions of a website
-location extensions if you have a physical store or it could be useful for other purposes.
9. Optimization of landing pages for PPC Ad Campaign
Landing page is the first page your visitors are sent on to. So, optimize your landing pages thoroughly because they very important in a PPC campaign . Add only the relevant links, and keywords and remove everything that is dragging your website down. when the landing page offers what your user is looking for, indirectly the sales purchase increases.
10. Monitor competitors
Always keep an eye on your competitors and see what they are doing to set a benchmark. Observe their PPC ad campaigns, the keywords, strategies and so on. And design things for your ad campaign accordingly. Do not copy them but understand what is in trend and what is making profit. You can use the tool KeywordSpy to collect, manage and give access to all the historical ad campaign information of your competitors.
11. Call to action
Make your visitors take the desired action after visiting your website through PPC Campaign. Call To Action- CTA is the step where you guide the customer to take the action you want them to take. According to Wordstream study, the top performing ads do not use the word “click” to guide their customer. “Get” is the word most used for CTA. Buy, Shop, Try being the descendents.
Be clear and concise about the CTA you want your customers to take, it could be to call you, then just put it there clearly to pick up the phone and call you. Use a strong CTA.
This was a small guide to develop a PPC campaign for a business. Hope this will help you to set up a PC campaign for your business.
By Media Lab
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